Add your Article

The Journey of Hope Gala
11/10/2010 - By New York, NY

The Journey of Hope Gala

More than 200 guests gathered on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 at the Prince George Ballroom to celebration the Third Annual Journey of Hope Gala to benefit the Brain Injury Association of New York State.

This gala is the Brain Injury Association of New York State’s major annual fundraising event, raising critical funds to continue its mission. Honorary Co-Chairs Penny Marshall and Lorraine Bracco, motivated by their own experiences supporting a friend with a traumatic brain injury, have generously committed their time and energy to support the Journey of Hope Gala and the Association. Mary Ellen McCooey and Bradley Van Nostrand served as the Gala co-chairs, while David Ushery, Anchor, WNBC 4 New York was the Master of Ceremonies for the evening.

At this year’s gala, awards were given to the following Association supporters:
The Champion of Hope Award went to Dr. Mary Hibbard from New York University/Rusk Institute of Rehabilitation, who has devoted her professional and personal life to the support of individuals with brain injury and their families;
The Victory Award was accepted by Daniel Trush of Daniel’s Music Foundation, whose courage, resiliency, and generous spirit serves as encouragement and inspiration to all who struggle with brain injury and their loved ones;
The Family Philanthropy Award was given to Elliot Finkelstein, who, with his late wife, Sandy, became a pioneer in advocacy for individuals with brain injury and their families, and founded BIANYS; The Hero of Hope Award went to Sergeant Jeannette Arroyo, U.S. Army (Retired) who sustained a brain injury in the service of our nation, and has dedicated herself to giving voice to her fellow wounded warriors; and The Corporate Citizens of the Year Award were accepted by John P. Ferrantello of John P. Ferrantello, P.C. and Anthony Ferrantello of AVF Development Corp., who have strived to bring awareness of brain injury to the business community.

The evening began with a lavish cocktail reception and silent auction followed by the award presentations, dinner and live auction. Lorraine Bracco presented a moving opening address, setting the stage for the rest of the evening. In addition to the silent auction, enthusiastic guests bid on several exceptional items at an exciting live auction.

Photos By: Patrick McMullan

Photo Gallery

Click here for more pictures and a slideshow. You can also click on any of the photos to start slideshow.

Slideshow »