Add your Article

ROLEX presents Career Transition For Dancers 25th Anniversary Silver Jubilee
11/08/2010 - By New York, NY

Career Transitions For Dancers 25th Anniversary Gala, A Jubilant Celebration

The annual Career Transition For Dancers Jubilee never fails to excite, indeed, electrify the audience, and how not, as each year director and producer Ann Marie DeAngelo and Executive Producer Alexander Dube out do themselves in filling the stage at City Center with the most dazzling dance, theater and music artists. As this year was the organizations 25th Silver Anniversary, the 90 minute non-stop performance spotlighted magical moments in a star studded retrospective from past Jubilees. Presented once again by longtime sponsor ROLEX, the event was a smashing, sold out success. By evening�s end the gala raised over $ 1.2 million dollars

Hosted by Angela Lansbury; the spectacular evening highlighted magical moments from past glittering galas which have featured thousands of dance world stars.
Also joining the celebration were Tony Award Winners: Bebe Neuwirth, Ann Reinking, Chita Rivera, Tommy Tune, Karen Ziemba and Marvin Hamlisch and artists from some of America�s greatest dance companies: Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, American Ballet Theatre, The Joffrey Ballet, MOMIX, National Dance Institute, and Parsons Dance, will perform at the entertainment/dance event of the new season. plus show-stopping Broadway numbers from� 42nd Street� and �Chicago� and more stars, at this once-in-a-lifetime event that is not-to-be-missed! Honoring a quarter century of support, Career Transition For Dancers connects dancers to their future, and embraces the unique legacy of dance and dancers that enriches the human condition. The 2010 Rolex Dance Award will be presented to Twyla Tharp. The Career Transition For Dancers� Awards for Outstanding Contributions to the World of Dance will be presented to the organization�s four union founders: Actors� Equity Ass ociation, American Federation of Television and Radio Artists, American Guild of Musical Artists, Screen Actors Guild � Motion Picture Players Welfare Fund; as well as an award each to The Barth Family and to the CTFD President Cynthia G. Fischer. Also at the gala, the Capezio Ballet Makers Dance Foundation will present Trisha Brown with the 59th annual Capezio Dance Award.

The 25th Anniversary Chairs were Michele Herbert, Anka K. Palitz, Nicole Sexton and Allen Brill. Past honoree & Chair Patricia Kennedy founder of Step Up 4 Vets once again hosted injured veterans as her guests.

Photos By: Ann Watt/Society-Photos.com

Photo Gallery

Click here for more pictures and a slideshow. You can also click on any of the photos to start slideshow.

Slideshow »