05/27/2014 - The Children's Environmental Literacy Foundation's Annual Gala
05/19/2014 - McCarton Foundation Gala at the Central Park Zoo
05/17/2014 - City College Center for the Arts Launch
05/08/2014 - Inaugural Downtown Fair
04/08/2014 - Jr. Committee Kick-Off Heart of the Hamptons at Tao Downtown
03/19/2014 - Sundance Institute Theatre Club Dinner and Performance hosted by George and Joan Hornig
03/08/2014 - Perlman Music Program's An Evening of Chamber Music, Palm Beach
03/06/2014 - The Heart & Soul Charitable Fund's 25th Anniversary Auction
03/06/2014 - "The Art of Interiors" April Russell and friends support the animal charity Bideawee
02/27/2014 - Adults in Toyland Casino Night Raises $850,000 to Benefit Stephen D. Hassenfeld Children’s Center
02/23/2014 - Hilary and Wilbur Ross celebrate the Louvre in Palm Beach with American Friends of the Louvre
02/22/2014 - “Thanksgiving in February”
02/06/2014 - EMPOWERS AFRICA Annual Gala Dinner at The Explorers Club, New York City
02/03/2014 - Youth America Grand Prix (YAGP) luncheon at Le Cirque
01/27/2014 - James Jay Dudley Luce Foundation Leadership Awards
01/11/2014 - 2014 Susan G. Komen® Perfect Pink Party
Add your Article

Central Park Conservancy Hat Luncheon
05/05/2010 - By New York, NY

Central Park Conservancy Hat Luncheon

The 28th Annual Frederick Law Olmsted Awards Luncheon, hosted by the Women’s Committee of The Central Park Conservancy was held in the six-acre Conservatory Garden, the Park’s only formal garden.

It was a smashing success, raising nearly $2.5 million dollars to support the Conservancy’s work in maintaining and preserving Central Park. Guests filled 120 tables, including corporate tables sponsored by Chanel, Dior, Graff, Bloomberg and Thomson Reuters.

Co-Chairs Noreen Buckfire, Anne Harrison, Marcia Mishaan and Sarah Robertson greeted over 1,200 supporters. Most of them wore glamorous hats, which is why the event has been nicknamed the “Hat Luncheon.” Looking from above, it was a sea of color.

Women’s Committee President Gillian Miniter opened the Awards program, welcoming guests and acknowledging Norma Dana and Jean Clark, two of the four Women’s Committee founders; Tom Kempner, current Chairman of the Board of Trustees; the Conservancy’s founder Betsy Barlow Rogers; and Douglas Blonsky, President of the Central Park Conservancy and Central Park Administrator, who is celebrating his 25th year with the Conservancy.

Honorees of this year’s event included Corporate Chairman Tom Glocer, Thomson Reuters CEO, who has raised vital funds for the Conservancy. The Frederick Law Olmsted Award, given to individuals whose remarkable leadership contribute to the Park’s lasting health, was presented to Betsy Messerschmitt, past president of the Women’s Committee. The Award was also presented to Patsy and Jeff Tarr, longtime supporters of Women’s Committee initiatives. The Tarrs recently funded the renovation of the Park’s West 100th Street Playground, renamed the Tarr Family Playground.

The Women’s Committee thanked Evelyn Lauder, Richard Mishaan and Thorunn Wathne for their in-kind contributions. Also Abigail Kirsch Catering and Andrew Pascoe Flowers.

Leading the applause were Sigourney Weaver, Martha Stewart, Michelle Paige Paterson, Silda Wall Spitzer, Hilary Geary Ross, Deputy Mayor Patti Harris, Parks Commissioner Adrian Benepe, Karen LeFrak, Fe Fendi, Allison Rockefeller, Tara Rockefeller, Blaine Trump, Susan Rudin, Fiona and Eric Rudin, Suzanne Johnson, Alexandra Lebenthal, Susan Fales-Hill, Amy Fine Collins, Eric Javits, Michelle Smith, Wendy Carduner, Eleanora Kennedy, Sheila Labrecque, Gail Hilson, Jessie Araskog, Kamie Lightburn, Lally Weymouth, Marlene Hess and Muffy Miller.

Photos by Nick Hunt/ Patrick McMullan and Mary Hilliard, or Jason Russo Photography

Photo Gallery

Click here for more pictures and a slideshow. You can also click on any of the photos to start slideshow.

Slideshow »