Add your Article

2010 Fountain House Symposium and Luncheon
05/03/2010 - By New York, NY

2010 Fountain House Symposium and Luncheon

Glenn Close was the recipient of the Fountain House Humanitarian Award, at the seventh annual Fountain House Symposium and Luncheon, on May 3, 2010, at the Grand Ballroom of The Pierre in New York City.

The Emmy, Golden Globe and Tony Award winner was honored for her dedicated and passionate advocacy on behalf of people with mental illness. Funds raised by the event, entitled “Voices & Visions: Understanding and Treating Psychosis – New Research, New Hope”, support the programs of Fountain House, an internationally recognized non-profit organization which, since 1948, has worked to better the lives of people living with major mental illness.

Former First Lady Rosalynn Carter and US Congressman Patrick J. Kennedy, both longtime champions of mental health issues, were among the nearly 600 guests in attendance. This yearly event was founded to advance community knowledge about mental illness and to reduce the associated stigma.

The Symposium featured a panel discussion geared to a lay audience by distinguished experts in the fields of mental health research, treatment, and public policy: Jeffrey Lieberman, MD, Donald C. Goff, MD, and Beth Baxter, MD. Consuelo Mack, managing editor and anchor of Consuelo Mack WealthTrack, served as Master of Ceremonies.

The Honorable Robert A. Antonioni, US Congressman Patrick J. Kennedy, and US Congressman John A. Sullivan were Honorary Chairs. Event Chairs: Patricia Begley, Kitty de Chazal, Lorna Hyde Graev, Alexandra A. Herzan, Anne Mai. Program Chair: Lynn Nicholas, PsyD. Corporate Chair: Kim S. Fennebresque, Dahlman Rose & Co.

Among those in attendance were: Frances Beatty Adler and Allen Adler, Courtney Allinson Arnot, Debbie Bancroft, Ann Barish, Deeda and Bill Blair, Katherine Bryan, Dana Buchman, Rebecca de Kertanguay, Jackie Drake, Jackie Drexel, Marina Galesi, Gail Gilbert, Mark Gilbertson, Lorna and Larry Graev, Sharon Handler, Amanda H. Haynes-Dale, Alex and Paul Herzan, Marlene Hess, Mariana Kaufman, Fernanda Kellogg, Stephanie Krieger and Brian Stewart, Margo M. Langenberg, Denise LeFrak-Calicchio, Carolyn B. MacKenzie, Helena Martinez, Lynn and Nick Nicholas, Lee Niven, Elizabeth T. Peabody, Ann and John S. Pyne, Ann Rapp, Emilia Saint-Amand, Jean Shafiroff, Silda Wall Spitzer, Felicia Taylor, Topsy Taylor, Kari and Carl Tiedemann, Zibby Tozer, Adrienne Vittadini, Liz and Jim Watson.

Photos by Amber DeVos/PatrickMcMullan.com and Leslie Barbaro

Photo Gallery

Click here for more pictures and a slideshow. You can also click on any of the photos to start slideshow.

Slideshow »